A Well-spent Week

Published November 10, 2014 by accentsmagazinekeanuniversity

I live a simple life.  No SmartPhone.  No cable TV.  No television reception whatsoever in my home–by choice.  No iPod, iPad, laptop, or other portable Internet connection devices.  I have a simple cell phone without a data plan, and I’m not a slave to it, wandering around with it plastered to my face like a band-aid on my forehead.  I answer it when I choose to, and most often I ignore it.  I have a desktop computer, which I mostly use to play Scrabble/Words with Friends, to email, and to check out some  photo ops posted by my friends on Facebook–in addition to using it to complete my homework assignments.  The lone media I enjoy is the radio, and even at times I turn it off to relish the silence.  I may be the rarity in a world filled with multimedia, but I prefer the simplicity of it.  In honor of the media deprivation, I present to you a poem.

 

A Well-Spent Week

 

A week without a cell phone won’t make me weak,

One hour without the radio lets me think

Without distraction, it’s awareness I seek.

I can be deprived longer of the media stink,

When I know that I’ll be cognizant of the meek,

While all around me will be the familiar wink

Of friends not distracted, deprived of the reek

Like me, testing selves, staying strong, don’t shrink

To the media hype, don’t do it, don’t peek

At your cell phone!  Hold on!  Face goes pink

As the moment passes and a new dawn sneaks

Out, and I cheer myself and others with a clink

Of glasses in commemoration of a well-spent week.

Leave a Reply

